Glad and young

March 19, 2011 § 1 Comment

Today I arrived in Venice. I am going with my friend Valentina (I met her in my Danish class); she is from Venice and we are staying at her house with her very hospitable parents (complete with homemade giardiniera, almond cake, and delicious meats and cheese– and that was just what I experienced within ten minutes of arriving). I am going to try to update this blog frequently so it isn’t overwhelming at the end of the trip.

As we were flying to Venice, I was reflecting on the current situations in Libya and Japan… and it just made me want to iterate in this (public) place how fortunate and privileged I am to have the means to study in Denmark and travel around Europe. And how grateful I am to have such supportive family and friends. (Obviously I am also thankful for a whole host of other things, including but not limited to my health, my education, etc, but they are less pertinent to the content of this blog…)

A favorite sentiment from a favorite poem from a favorite poet:

you shall above all things be glad and young
For if you're young,whatever life you wear
it will become you;and if you are glad
whatever's living will yourself become.

--ee cummings
 

Buonanotte, amore, e grazie.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Glad and young

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Glad and young at Hygge.

meta