Saturdays on Stroget and other great things

March 12, 2011 § Leave a comment

I spent today on Stroget with some friends, where we did some light shopping, got some heavy ice cream, and generally had a pleasant time. It was one of the first days where the weather felt like spring. Thus, in the spirit of irony, I bought this killer winter hat on sale from a used clothing shop.

Other things:

Katy tried on some ugly shoes.

We saw some street musicians playing beer bottles. It was super cool. Poker Face:


There was this ice cream place we’ve all passed a billion times, so we stopped there as well and got some very rich ice cream. [Left to right: Katy (England), Elisabeth (Australia), Nadine (Germany)]

And we saw a super awesome baby carriage, presumably waiting outside with the baby in it.

A few other marvels of København:

I was late to class on Wednesday, so I went up to apologize to the professor. He says, in a completely non sarcastic way, “Don’t worry, you’re an adult, you don’t have to apologize.” Can all of my American friends just revel in that for a moment. I can’t imagine a professor in the US ever acting like that. The complete lack of hierarchy here is surprising and refreshing. Professors are called by their first names. (I am still not comfortable with this and always say Dr. So-and-so.) Apparently, in business, you are free to criticize your boss with no repercussions. I actually just did a search about this and found a manual about doing business in Denmark (from http://www.communicaid.com):

Danish businesses tend to have flat hierarchies. Employees rely less on personal power and authority and managers are seen more as team leader or coach. Social barriers between managers and their employees are regarded as unnatural and undesirable.

One of my favorite things about living in my Kollegium is when we eat meals together. As I’ve written about before, when it is someone’s birthday we have breakfast all together. (There was a fødselsdag this past Thursday and we had a delicious spread of yogurt, buns, eggs, bacon, and pancakes.) Once a week we have a common dinner, where everyone chips in money, two people cook, and we all eat together. So far we’ve had dinners of pasta with chicken, a traditional Hungarian potato dish, and tacos. Tonight is a common dinner and I am excited to see what we will be eating! It is my turn to cook with my flatmate in two weeks, so we have to think of something to make. I was thinking of mac & cheese because no one here has ever had it.

I also got my hair cut Friday. I solicited recommendations from a few people, but ended up searching krøllet hår København (curly hair Copenhagen) on google and found a recommendation. It was about 40 minutes away but the recommendation was so glowing I figured I’d try it. She had an appointment at 2:30 Friday which I accepted. Friday afternoon, I left my apartment with more than ample time, but the train was delayed and I ended up being about 10 minutes late. The hairdresser told me she had another appointment coming up and couldn’t take me, and that she was booked for the rest of the day. Devastated, I tried convincing her to do something, anything. I said maybe she could start the cut and then finish it in between other customers. She didn’t think this was possible, but as I’ve come to learn, where there’s a will there’s a way. I stayed talking with her, trying to come up with some solution or to get a recommendation for a different place. By this time about 15 minutes had passed but then– her next appointment came in and the hairdresser said, “Oh, my next appointment is early and I told her I’d give her a quick cut, so I can take you.” Oh my god, I almost cried after being so frustrated then having it work out, especially as I was just about to leave. She gave me a pretty good cut albeit it is a little different than I am used to. (For those who don’t know, I have literally gone to the same hairdresser since I was a child. When I’m at school, I wait until breaks when I go home to get it cut. Only once have I gotten my hair cut somewhere else, while I was in Pittsburgh, and it was a disaster. So I was happy this turned out.)

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Saturdays on Stroget and other great things at Hygge.

meta