And now we will play the harp

January 14, 2011 § 2 Comments

After an uneventful week, today was actually really fun. My kollegium  (my dorm/apartment) has a tradition where, when it is someone’s birthday, their two neighbors make breakfast for him or her and the other flatmates. It was a girls birthday today, so her neighbors made breakfast, and I got up at 8am to a cheery table and delicious food! (This is obviously not all 12 other people I live with, but it was everyone who was willing to get up at 8am).

table Table

The girl looking at the camera in the above picture is the other exchange student; she is from the Czech republic. The tall girl in the middle on the right is my neighbor; she is actually from Hungary but she has been here a few years. That incidentally reminds me of a funny story about her that I will post at the bottom of this entry…

The breakfast consisted of eggs, bacon, pancakes, muffins, rolls, cheese, and yogurt with granola chocolate and honey, yum! There was also a shot of alcohol that we were supposed to toast with but it tasted kind of vile.

My favorite part was the birthday song. The general gist of the song, as it was explained to me, is that you sing “it’s your birthday so we are all going to play you instruments.” The birthday person picks three instruments and then the other people sing, and for the bridge of the song, “play” the instruments. The birthday girl picked guitar, harp, and trombone. If I had known how great the song would be I would have gotten a video of it. Luckily it is someone else’s birthday on Sunday, so I will get a video then. The first picture shows them playing the trombone to the birthday girl (in the black and white), and the second is clapping after the song is over.

Song

 

Today was also great because, in class, we played bingo to help learn/review numbers. Bingo cards here are weird. Instead of being 5 by 5, they are 9 by 3, but only 5 of the 9 spaces are used. The only way to get bingo is to get an entire row across. There isn’t anything such as B6; you just call out the number. I asked everyone in the class who used a 5 by 5 bingo card, and it was only Americans. Canadians used a square bingo card but not 5 by 5. Isn’t the whole point of bingo to have BINGO across the top? Here’s a picture I found online of what the cards look like:

Anyway, for perhaps the first time in my life, I actually won at bingo! *Gasp.* The prize was salt lakrids (salt licorice) which is as nasty as it sounds. It’s apparently a Danish treat, but it’s pretty gross. As another American in my class described it after tasting it– it tastes like a minty cough drop. I couldn’t even finish one. Luckily, Europeans seem to have weird taste in sweets and I was able to hand them off to my German friend. Alas. They were pretty though, and designed to look like old currency with a mermaid on them.

This afternoon, the Danish class had an activity for us where we watched the first dogme film, Festen (The Celebration) by Vinterberg (1998). Pretty striking/depressing/hard to watch. It kind of reminded me, in a way, ofthe Romanian movie 4 Months, 3 Weeks, 2 Days, that I saw with my Aunt and Bubbe a few years ago. Good yet terrifying.

On that note, the funny incident that occurred with my neighbor happened last week. It was about 2am and I couldn’t sleep because of jetlag, so I was up at my computer. I heard knocking from next door, but I couldn’t figure out where it was coming from or why it was happening, so I ignored it. It kept going on for like 5 minutes, and then I saw a hang knocking on my window with a tube of lipstick. I thought that was weird, but I figured my neighbor was just on her balcony and saw my light was on, so she was knocking to say hi. I leaned over and knocked “hi” on my window back at her. This seemed not to appease her, and she kept knocking, and then she motioned for me to come over. Ok, I thought, there must be something really neat outside she wants me to see. A meteor shower or something. So I got up and walked over to her room and knocked on her door. She didn’t come to answer it. Is whatever she is looking at so great she can’t even leave the balcony? I pushed on the door and it was open, so I walked in. Turned out she had locked herself out on the balcony in the freezing weather! So now I am not only her neighbor, I am a hero 😉

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to And now we will play the harp

  • Nadine says:

    I hope you told your suitemates that your birthday is Feb.1!!!! Did you help with the cooking? It’s freezing in NYC. XO, NA

  • Hannah says:

    Unfortunately, I told them my real birthday before I knew of this great tradition. I’m hoping I can maybe get something together for my half birthday, haha. No, I didn’t help cook since the birthday girl wasn’t my neighbor

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading And now we will play the harp at Hygge.

meta