The word for weekend in Danish is “weekend”

January 9, 2011 § 4 Comments

I had a pretty good weekend, and that is kind of an understatement.

Class on Friday was uneventful, except for this one tidbit I will share. It requires reader participation.
Go here and click “listen” on the right side of the page under the Danish. Haha, I thought it was funny.

After class we had an excursion to go ice skating, which turned out to be underwhelming. The rink was outside and they didn’t even have benches to sit on, so you had to sit on ice to put your skates on. Additionally, the skates were all mens’ hockey skates, so they were huge around the ankles… and let’s just say the rink hadn’t been Zambonied in a life time.
On the way to the rink I stopped at a mall to get a bottle of water, and saw this gem

Unfortunately it was closed so we couldn’t try the delicacy. I also saw a set of sheets that I really liked, but they were expensive and it being only my first week in Denmark, I decided to hold off.

Saturday was the fun day! A group of about 15 of us from my class were going to meet at 2pm to walk around. We started off at the King’s Garden, but the group was walking so fast that I couldn’t stop and see anything… for instance, there were these big statues and I couldn’t stop to look at them at all. Another girl from my class (Elisabeth) was lagging behind also. We intended to see what we wanted and then to catch up with the group, but before we knew it they were completely out of site. Luckily this didn’t phase us, and we continued to explore the garden. Picture preview of the King’s Garden:

We wandered out behind the garden to a quaint residential street. There was a big church, and a building that had an outdoor climbing wall just randomly on the side… yeah. I really wanted to go to the Museum of Danish Art and Design, but the big group of 15 hadn’t seemed so keen on it. Luckily, Elisabeth had wanted to go also, so we walked a mile or two there. The museum was super neat– it had tons of furniture and art from many different Danish periods.

Of course, all the furniture was just begging to be touched, which leads me to a funny moment of the day. Also of course, it all had signs on it that said do not touch… well, there was this one chair that just looked so big and inviting and I couldn’t help myself…. so Elisabeth told me to just sit in it really quickly and we’d get a picture:

We went along our merry way to the next room, which was directly connected to the room with the chair… and we walk in, and there is a museum guard sitting right there! We nervously laughed and then realized he was asleep, haha.

At the museum I also made my first non-food purchase; I got a pair of cute earrings.

After the museum, we walked down the Nyhavn Canal, which is the canal lined with colorful buildings that adorns all tourist brochures of Copenhagen. It was dark (and rainy) at this point so we couldn’t get the full effect of its charm. We stopped at a restaurant (also my first restaurant meal here!). Elisabeth got this lobster bisque that was foamy, and, in her words, tasted like “a fish smoothy.” She also got some dish with duck (the second picture), and I got fish. We split dessert, which was a Danish apple dessert– kind of like apple pie in a cup.

Then we went back to Elisabeth’s apartment, where we hung out and discussed hygge until about 10pm. At 10pm, we went back into the city where we met back up with the people from our class. (It turned out they basically went home after the King’s Garden, so we had a much, much better day!) We went to a bar/club which, in my humble opinion, was way overpriced, too loud, and not that much my scene. It was still fun though… Danes party super late (bars close at 7am here), but I headed home around 1:45am.

All and all a very good weekend!

To view the rest of the pictures from the weekend, click here

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to The word for weekend in Danish is “weekend”

  • Beth says:

    omg How can “fire og fyrre fyre” sound like the same word repeated three times? Good luck learning this wacky language! 🙂

    I’m really interested in this corn product…please investigate and report your findings!

  • Beth says:

    I realize that “fire” “fyrre” and “fyre” would probably sound the same, but it’s still funny that that’s the translation for “four and forty guys”. I guess you’ll have to be very keen on the pronunciation differences. Very keen!

  • Nadine says:

    LOVE the picture of you in the orange chair…I think you might need to bring that home to Northbrook…can you fit it in your suitcase??? Love you, NA

  • Nadine says:

    So, nu??? Do we have to beg for updates??? Your adoring fans need news! XO, NA

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The word for weekend in Danish is “weekend” at Hygge.

meta